It’s Hard to Learn a New Language | Even Harder to Learn a New Culture

“The citizen is lost in the labyrinth constructed by his country, when in the fact straight is the gate, and narrow must always be the way. When I left for Middlebury, I had just published an article arguing for reparations. People would often ask me what change I expected to come from it. But change had already come. I had gone further down the unending path of knowing, deeper into the night. I was rejecting mental enslavement. I was rejecting the lie.”

Acting French | The Atlantic

 

Leave a Reply

