“Bitches” and “Feminist Dykes” Who Report Sexual Harassment in the NPS

“I didn’t have much tolerance for any of that behavior. And it showed. But zero tolerance had its price: One day in the van, after we’d gotten off the river, one of the guides sat next to me and said, “I need you to show me that you’re not a bitch. Everyone says you’re a bitch, a feminist dyke, so kiss me and prove you’re not.” I quickly learned to let the locker room talk slide. Being a target was worse.”

“About halfway through the season, I was peeing behind a bush when I realized I wasn’t alone. One of the male guides was standing over me. Before I could speak, he did: “It’s been puzzling me all season — are your nipples pink or brown? I know you’re a B cup, I have that figured out, but what color are your nipples?”

Read the full story: Rough Water: A River Guide Tells Her Side of the Story | Men’s Journal

Also: Investigative Report of Misconduct at the Grand Canyon River District | Office of Inspector General | US Department of the Interior

1 GRAND

Leave a Reply

