Leaving the Rez Gave Me Purpose as Navajo Storyteller

[I am Diné, an American Indian. Not the Indian princess of a Disney movie, not the enemy combatant in a Western film, not the romantic, stoic relic of an old Edward Curtis photograph.

I was born and raised on the Navajo Nation Reservation, where my grandparents plied traditional knowledge and at the same time shared with me the importance of a white man’s way of life. In this day and age, they told me, finding a balance between the two is crucial to your own path. But it wasn’t until I left the reservation that I came to understand my purpose as a Diné woman.]

PETERS

Read more at http://indiancountrytodaymedianetwork.com/2016/07/30/leaving-rez-gave-me-purpose-navajo-storyteller

Leave a Reply

